University of KwaZulu Natal

The University of KwaZulu-Natal (UKZN) was established on 1st January 2004 through the merger between the University of Durban-Westville and the University of Natal. UKZN has 5 campuses with a total student population of over 44000 in 2013 and an academic staff complement of 1450. 23% of full-time academic staff and 23% of postgraduates (M&PhD) are international. UKZN offers the full scope of undergraduate and postgraduate programmes across a broad range of disciplines. UKZN is a research intensive university and, over the past 10 years, has been rated in the top 3 most research-productive university of the 23 South African universities. 85% of UKZN`s professorial staff are research-active and publishing and 56% of permanent academic staff have a PhD as a minimum qualification. UKZN is home to the NIH-funded Centre for AIDS Programme of Research in SA (CAPRISA), the Wellcome Trust-funded Africa Centre for Health and Population Studies and the HHMI-funded KZN Research Institute for Tuberculosis and HIV (K-RITH). UKZN is also the hub for the DST-NRF Centre for African Indigenous Knowledge Systems (AIKS). All of this was achieved while UKZN was undergoing a merger and major transformation. UKZN is firmly committed to transformation in its widest sense and, to this end, has developed a Transformation Charter, the objective of which is to lay the foundation for the premier university of African scholarship that is united in and exploits its diversity.

VISION To be the premier university of African scholarship. MISSION A truly South African university that is academically excellent, innovative in research, critically engaged with society and demographically representative, redressing the disadvantages, inequities and imbalances of the past.

Foundation year:2004
Short name:UKZN
Faculty/Students Ratio:27:1