University of Iowa

The University of Iowa is a major national research university located on a 1,900-acre campus in Iowa City in southeast Iowa, on the Iowa River. Founded in 1847 in Iowa City, Iowa, as the state’s first public institution of higher learning, the University enrolls more than 30,300 students and offers several top-ranking programs. Iowa is composed of 11 colleges, the largest of which is the College of Liberal Arts and Sciences, enrolling most of Iowa’s undergraduates. The Henry B. Tippie College of Business, the Roy J. and Lucille A. Carver College of Medicine, and the Colleges of Education, Engineering, Law, Nursing, Pharmacy, enroll undergraduates, and with the Colleges of Dentistry and Public Health provide graduate education in conjunction with the Graduate College. The University is a member of the prestigious Big Ten Conference, the Committee on Institutional Copperation, and the American Association of Universities.

Upon founding The University of Iowa in 1847, Iowa`s first legislature entrusted it with a threefold mission of teaching, research, and public service. In pursuing that mission today, the University seeks to advance scholarly and creative endeavor through leading-edge research and artistic production; to use this research and creativity to enhance undergraduate, graduate, and professional education, health care, and other services provided to the people of Iowa, the nation, and the world; and to educate students for success and personal fulfillment in an increasingly diverse and global environment.

Foundation year: 1847
Short name: UI / Iowa
Type: Public
Students: 27900
Faculty: 2280
Faculty/Students Ratio: 12:1
Region: North America
Location: Iowa City, IA