Wuhan University of Technology

Wuhan University of Technology (WUT) is located in Wuhan in Central China with a land area of 267 hectares. WUT is one of the leading Chinese universities under the direct administration of the Ministry of Education and one of the first universities constructed in priority by the State 211 Project for Chinese higher education institutions. The University owns 21 academic schools, 9 state key disciplines, 62 Doctoral programs, 135 Masters programs and 87 Bachelor`s programs with over 50,000 students. WUT possesses 24 innovative research centers with international leading level and a Science Park with an area of 58.7 hectares.

WUT was merged on May 27th 2000, from the former Wuhan University of Technology (established in 1948), Wuhan Transportation University (established in 1946) and Wuhan Automotive Polytechnic University (established in 1958). With the practice of over 60 years in talents cultivation, WUT has educated over 300,000 excellent students for Chinese building and new materials industry, transportation industry and automobile industry, and has formed the guiding principle of `take the students` cultivation as our essence, and take academic development as our priority, as well as forged the spirit of the university as `sound in Morality, broad in Learning and pursuing excellence`. The development strategy of the University will be focused on the Excellent Academic Staff and Quality Strategy, the Special-Feature and Innovation Strategy, and Internationalization Strategy. The vision of the University is to become a research led university with international influence and its own characteristics, who has the capability to create research achievements with international influence and originality, and to educate future leaders for the three industrial sectors of building and new materials, transportation and automobile as well as for regional development.

Foundation year:1948
Short name:WUT / WHUT
Faculty/Students Ratio:14:1
Location:Wuhan, Hubei